This page contains a Flash digital edition of a book.
European Endocrinology

Volume 8 • Issue 1 • Spring 2012

Cover image: Vitamin D-3 capsules. © BW Folsom/

Managing Editor Tami Hughes

Sub-editorial Manager Lisa Glass

Senior Sub-editors Jon Billinge

Anne-Claire Bouzanne

Senior Medical Writer James Gilbart

Design Manager Jennifer Rowley

Designer Elliott Holman

Production Manager Louise Monrose

Production Co-Ordinator Gina Loizou

Key Account Director Matthew Goodwin

Medical Sales Director Barney Kent

Marketing Director Sergei Sollo

Publishing Director Cathy Peck

Editorial Contact Tami Hughes

T: +44 (0) 20 7452 5232 F: +44 (0) 20 7452 5050


Circulation Contact Miriam Oppenheim


Sales Contact Matthew Goodwin T: +44 (0) 20 7452 5361 F: +44 (0) 20 7452 5606


Association Contact Aarti Sharma

T: +44 (0) 20 7452 5330 F: +44 (0) 20 7452 5606

E: European Endocrinology acknowledges the financial assistance of C8 MediSensors in the publication of this edition.

Paolo Beck-Peccoz Professor of Endocrinology, University of Milan

José Manuel Boavida Consultant Endocrinologist, Portuguese Oncology Institute (IPO), Lisbon

Philippe Bouchard Professor and Chairman, Department of Endocrinology, Hospital Saint Antoine and University Pierre and Marie Curie

Francesco Chiarelli Professor of Paediatrics, University of Chieti

George P Chrousos Professor and Chairman, First Department of Paediatrics, University of Athens

Annamaria Colao

Professor of Endocrinology, ‘Federico II’ University of Naples

Thomas Danne

Professor of Paediatrics, Children’s Hospital ‘Auf der Bult’, Hannover

Anne-Marie Felton

President, Federation of European Nurses in Diabetes (FEND)

Baptist Gallwitz

Professor of Medicine, Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen

Andrea R Genazzani Professor and Director, Department of Reproductive Medicine and Child Development, University of Pisa

Ezio Ghigo Professor, Division of

Endocrinology and Metabolism, University of Turin

Andrea Giustina Professor of Medicine, University of Brescia

Editorial Board Burkhard Göke

Professor and Director, Medical Clinic II, Ludwig Maximilians University Munich

Ashley Grossman

Professor of Endocrinology, OCDEM, University of Oxford

Anthony M Heagerty Professor, University of Manchester

Jens Juul Holst

Professor of Medical Physiology, University of Copenhagen

Eugene Hughes

Chairman, Primary Care Diabetes Europe Group (PCD Europe)

Anna-Lena Hulting Professor, Endocrinology, Metabolism and Diabetology, Karolinska University Hospital

Robert Knutzen

President and CEO, Pituitary Network Association (PNA)

Peter Laurberg

Professor of Endocrinology and Internal Medicine, Aarhus University Hospital

Pierre Lefèbvre

Emeritus (active) Professor of Medicine, University of Liège

Andrea Lenzi

Professor of Endocrinology, ‘La Sapienza’ University of Rome

Rayaz A Malik

Professor of Medicine, University of Manchester

Chantal Mathieu Professor of Medicine, Catholic University Leuven

Jean Claude Mbanya Professor of Medicine and Endocrinology, University of Yaoundé

Enrico Papini

Professor of Endocrinology, ‘La Sapienza’ University of Rome

Furio Pacini

Professor of Endocrinology, University of Siena

Ralf Paschke

Professor of Medicine and Endocrinology, University of Leipzig

Pierre-François Plouin Professor of Medicine, Georges Pompidou European Hospital and Paris Descartes University

Vera Popovic-Brkic

Professor of Medicine, Belgrade University School of Medicine

Michael B Ranke

Professor, Paediatric Endocrinology Section, University Children’s Hospital, Eberhard Karls University

Guy Rutten

Professor of Diabetology in Primary Care, University Medical Centre Utrecht

Martin Silink

Professor of Paediatric Endocrinology, University of Sydney and The Children’s Hospital at Westmead

Johannes WA Smit Professor and Chairman, Department of Endocrinology, Leiden University Medical Centre

Solomon Tesfaye Consultant Physician and Honorary Professor of Diabetic Medicine, University of Sheffield

Peter Trainer

Professor of Endocrinology, University of Manchester

Graham R Williams Professor of Endocrinology, Imperial College London

European Endocrinology wishes to thank the organisations below for their assistance. This does not constitute any official endorsement.

Published by Touch Briefings. Touch Briefings is the trading name of Touch Group plc.

All information obtained by Touch Briefings and each of the contributors from various sources is as current and accurate as possible. However, due to human or mechanical errors, Touch Briefings and the contributors cannot guarantee the accuracy, adequacy or completeness of any information, and cannot be held responsible for any errors or omissions, or for the results obtained from the use thereof.

Where opinion is expressed, it is that of the authors and does not necessarily coincide with the editorial views of Touch Briefings. Statistical and financial data in this publication have been compiled on the basis of factual information and do not constitute any investment advertisement or investment advice.

Touch Briefings, Saffron House, 6–10 Kirby Street, London, EC1N 8TS, UK. © 2012 All rights reserved

ISSN 1758-3772

Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68