Filter Specialty
Submit To The Journals

Pierre Lefèbvre

Emeritus (active) Professor of Medicine, University of Liège

Pierre J. LEFEBVRE received his MD Degree at the University of Liège, Belgium and got his PhD at the same University. He is presently Emeritus (active) Professor of Medicine and clinical Consultant at the University of Liège where he has been Chairman of the Department of Medicine (1988-2000) and Head of the Division of Diabetes, Nutrition and Metabolic Disorders (1970-2000).

His research has been devoted to the physiology and pathophysiology of metabolic regulations with particular emphasis on glucagon, insulin and physical exercise. He performed numerous studies on the pathogeny and treatment of Type 2 diabetes and obesity. Among his main contributions are:

  • the demonstration of the role of glucagon in lipolysis and the regulation of glucagon secretion by circulating FFA
  • the study of the factors regulating gastric glucagon release using a unique model of isolated-perfused dog stomach
  • the first description of the use of « naturally labeled 13C-glucose » for metabolic studies in man (paper published in Science)
  • the systematic analysis of the contribution of ingested sugars before, during and after physical exercise in man
  • the study of continuous subcutaneous insulin infusion in diabetic patients, including the consequences of a deliberate interruption of the infusion
  • a critical re-evaluation of the reactive hypoglycemia syndrome
  • innovative studies on the use of computers in patient education

P. LEFEBVRE has published more than 25 books and 900 papers. He serves or has served on the Editorial Board of more than 20 International Journals. He has been recognised by several awards including the Masius Award (University of Liège, 1965), the University Foundation Alumni Award (Brussels, 1968), the Pfizer Award (Royal Academy of Medicine, Belgium 1979), the Claude Bernard Award (European Association for the Study of Diabetes, 1984), the Maurice Dérot Award (Paris, 1987) the Paul Langerhans Award (Deutsche Diabetes Gesellshaft, 1992), the Mizuno Award (Tokyo, 1996), the Novartis Long-Standing Achievement in Diabetes Award (2000), the Harold Rifkin Award of the American Diabetes Association (2012) etc… He has given the Alexander Marble (Boston, 1993), the Celal Oker (Istanbul, 1993) and the Banting Memorial (Diabetes UK, 2001) Lectures. He has been invited to give « State-of-the-Art » lectures at numerous international Congresses.

Pierre LEFEBVRE has been President of the Belgian Diabetes Association and the European Association for the Study of Diabetes. In 1991-1997, he has been Vice-President of the International Diabetes Federation (IDF) and first Chairman of the IDF Education Foundation. Between 2003 and 2006 he has been President and, in 2009, has been elected Honorary President of the IDF. Between 2007 and 2010, he has been President of the Global Diabetes Alliance (Seattle). From 2003 to 2014, he was Chairman of the Board of Directors of the World Diabetes Foundation (Copenhagen).

Pierre LEFEBVRE is member and former President of the Royal Academy of Medicine of Belgium, Foreign Associate member of the Académie Nationale de Médecine (Paris), member of the Academia Europaea, Honorary President of the International Academy of Sportology (Tokyo) and has been elected Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (London). He is Doctor honoris causa of the Universities of Badajoz (Spain), Laval (Québec, Canada), Helsinki (Finland), Paris VI (France), Cluj-Napoca (Rumania), Athens (Greece) and Clermont-Ferrand (France).

Published Content

  • Touch Medical Media Limited, trading as Touch Medical Media, is a private limited company registered in England and Wales at The White House, Mill Road, Goring, Reading, England, RG8 9DD with registered number 08197142. © 2019 All rights reserved.

    touchendocrinology is for informational purposes and intended for healthcare professionals only. Its content should not be considered medical advice, diagnosis or treatment recommendations.